Honolulu County disposable plastic ban: Bill 40

Next hearing:
Public Safety and Welfare Committee hearing
Thursday 24th October, 2019 at 2:30pm, Honolulu Hale

Please help protect marine life and human health by supporting Honolulu City Council Bill 40 (2019) with amendments. This bill will ban plastic checkout bags for take-out food, disposable plastic straws, stirrers, and utensils on O`ahu. However, it does not ban polystyrene foam food and drink containers as it is currently written.

The bill will be heard by the Public Safety and Welfare Committee on Thursday 24th October, 2019 at 2:30pm. Please ask for the bill to be amended to ban polystyrene foam containers. Please come to the meeting and testify and send in written testimony.

Also please call or email your council member before the meeting and let them know that you live in their district and support a ban on all plastic checkout bags, plastic straws, stirrers, utensils and polystyrene foam food containers.


Tommy Waters
Hawaii Kai, Kuliouou, Niu Valley, Aina Haina, Wailupe, Waialae-Iki, Kalani Valley, Kahala, Wilhemina Rise, Kaimuki, portions of Kapahulu, Diamond Head, Black Point, Waikiki, Ala Moana Beach Park
Phone: 768 5004
Email: tommy.waters@honolulu.gov

Heidi Tsuneyoshi
Mililani Mauka, Wahiawa, Mokuleia, Waialua, Haleiwa, Pupukea, Sunset Beach, Kahuku, Laie, Hauula, Punaluu, Kahana, Kaaawa, Kualoa, Waiahole, Kahaluu
Phone: 768 5002
Email: htsuneyoshi@honolulu.gov

Ikaika Anderson
Ahuimanu, Heeia, Haiku, Kaneohe, Maunawili, Kailua, Olomana, Enchanted Lake, Waimanalo
Phone: 768 5003
Email: ianderson@honolulu.gov
Joey Manahan
Kalihi, Iwilei, Kalihi Kai, Mapunapuna, Salt Lake, Aliamanu, Hickam, Foster Village, Ford Island, Sand Island
Phone: 768 5007
Email: jmanahan@honolulu.gov

Ron Menor
Waikele, Village Park, Royal Kunia, Mililani Town, West Loch, Iroquois Point, portions of Ewa Villages, Ewa Beach
Phone: 768 5009
Email: rmenor@honolulu.gov
Brandon Elefante
Lower Aiea, Pearlridge, Waimalu, Newtown, Pearl City, Seaview, Crestview, Waipio Gentry, Waipahu
Phone: 768 5008
Email: belefante@honolulu.gov

Kymberly Marcos Pine
Portions of Ewa Villages and Ewa Beach, Kapolei, Makakilo, Kalaeloa, Honokai Hale, Ko Olina, Nanakuli, Ma`ili, Wai`anae, Makaha, Kea`au, Makua
Phone: 768 5001
Email: kmpine@honolulu.gov
Ann Kobayashi
Kaimuki, Palolo Valley, St. Louis Heights, Manoa, Moiliili, McCully, and portions of Ala Moana, Kakaako, Makiki
Phone: 768 5005
Email: akobayashi@honolulu.gov

Carol Fukunaga
Portions of Makiki, Downtown Honolulu, Punchbowl, Pauoa Valley, Nuuanu, Alewa Heights, Papakolea, Fort Shafter, Moanalua, Halawa, Aiea, Kalihi Valley, and portions of Liliha and Kalihi
Phone: 768 5006
Email: cafukunaga@honolulu.gov

To do online testimony click this link:  
Online testimony submission form.
Testimony is do by Wed. 23rd October 2:30pm (24 hrs ahead of the meeting).

Instructions for filling in online testimony form to support Bill 40:

Meeting date - 24th October, 2019
Council/PH committee - select "Public Safety and Welfare Committee"
Agenda item - "Bill 40"
Position: select "Support"
Representing - select "Self" (unless you are a business owner or director of an organization, in which case put your organization name and not B.E.A.C.H.)

Include in written testimony:
- where you live (ie. Kailua, Kaka`ako etc.)
- let the Council know why you support the bill.
- the most important point to make is that plastic bags for take-out foods, plastic straws, stirrers, and utensils need to be banned and please amend the bill to ban polystyrene foam food containers on O`ahu.

Thank you for taking action!  Please ask all your friends and family to help too - make phone calls, write letters to the editor, send in testimony, and most importantly, COME TO THE HEARING. It's really important to have as many people as possible come to the hearing and tell the Committee in person that you support banning polystyrene foam food containers, plastic bags for take-out foods, plastic straws, stirrers, and utensils .

If you live on Kaua`i, Maui or Hawai`i islands or elsewhere there is a plastic bag ban and polystyrene foam container ban, please send testimony letting the Committee know how well the ban is working there and the positive effect it has had on the environment.

If you are a business owner, please do testimony on your letterhead and submit as an attachment. Thank you for helping.

Information about Bill 40
(Honolulu City Council website with bill, agenda, and all testimony)

Meeting agenda
(Committee meeting, Thursday 24th October, 2019, Bill 40 is on page ...)

Watch live on Olelo channel 54 or livestream


Coral Photograph Credit to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration/Department of Commerce and Dr. James P. McVey. Dolphins, Japanese Angelfish, Green turtle, and Laysan Albatross photos by James Watt. Humpback whale photo by James Mobeley

Unless noted otherwise, the contents of this website are Copyright © 2006-2019 B.E.A.C.H. Please ask permission before using any text, graphics or photographs from this website.